Using a pot to cut fan voltage?

Hilarious

Joined Feb 14, 2007
(A rehash of an earlier, lost, posting)

I am trying to quieten the fan in my 550W PSU by using an old radio-spare 50ohm potentiometer. It is a solution I sort of understand although a neater looking one - http://www.heatsink-guide.com/content.php?content=control.shtml - was mentioned in a search of All About Circuits.

My questions are these:
a. Is this better done by making a voltage divider circuit - a la Vol1-DC Chap 6 - or a straight rheostat? Any different dangers/gotchas to accommodate?
b. ..and this where I admit to being a total newb at electronics... is putting a 50 ohm resistance across the power in as in the voltage divider not likely to 'short' the power somewhat and cook the pot? I would rather be told than learn by damaging what I have as it seems to be hard to get a 5W pot these days from Maplins et al.

Many thanks in advance,

Hilarious

Joined Feb 14, 2007
Consider what might happen if the PSU cooks due to reduced cooling. I wouldn't take the chance.
Ouch, indeed, sir!

My quest for (reasonable, not fanatic-pleasing) quietness has this exercise as its starting-point. If it has a worthwhile effect on this disappointing new PSU's decibel level then I'll
either get a new PSU, :mad:
or try and find a way to make the fan respond to the actual cooling needs of the PSU (the 'heatsink.com project I mentioned, perhaps?), :confused:
or just use the pot to find the speed that balances noise with thermal safety. :p

I look forward to any answers to the original questions or advice re this little fan project.

Thanks again,

Hello Hilarious,