using a button to switch multiple wires?

rafael adamy

Joined May 24, 2015
hi, I crafted a simple A/B box (wich I use to choose between 2 audio paths) that has one Microphone input and 2 outputs (all 3-pin xlr plugs) but for that, I had to use a 9-connector 2 way switch.

I wanted to make a remote footswitch for that, so I'd have only one cable connecting the box to the footswitch, and I'd have one of those buttons that you step in to activate, but I don't know how to do that, given that those buttons are usually simple switches with 2 connectors, and also I don't recall seeing cables with 9 wires.

how does that even work to switch 3 ways using only a simple button?

thanks in advance

rafael adamy

Joined May 24, 2015
edit: no need to mention I'm a newbie to eletronics. I mean, I have made a few things by myself over the years, but never learned properly from books or so to know the names and technical specs of stuff

rafael adamy

Joined May 24, 2015
alright, maybe this will help: (I looked up some names to make myself a little clearer)

in black is what i currently have: a mechanical switch (TPDT?) to switch between A and B outputs.

and in blue is what i want: a momentary spst switch to do the output switching. reason I want a momentary spst is 1. because it won't make a pop sound on speakers when pressed, 2. because I could hook up a relatively long 2-wire cable and control it from distance, and 3. I'd be able to press it with my foot.

right now I have three different 3-wire cables in front of me, and I need to bend over and switch outputs manually, witch is far from ideal and is also causing noise on the speakers everytime I turn the switch.

I don't know if that's achievable, I mean, it must be, but I'm not sure how complicated that could get, so using a SPDT switch could be an option also, if that makes it much easier. would still cause noise, but better than nothing.