Use a dc ampere gauge in conjunction with a standard lamp

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Lila, Feb 14, 2015.

1. Lila

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 14, 2015
    Good morning all. I'm a newbie and I have some basic knowledge of electrical work for household elements. I'm currently making steampunk style lamps that incorporates various pressure/electrical gauges that I find on ebay into my designs. I have this one gauge inparticular that came from a vehicle, an ampere gauge, that I want to add to a new design of one of my lamps and have it work when the lamp switch is turned on. I'm not at all familiar with these types of connections and I don't even know if connecting this type of gauge is even possible. I've been scouring the Internet for information on circuits and gauges etc, but the lingo, to me, is like a foreign language. So I was hoping to maybe find some answers here. Here are pictures of the gauge

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    That's a DC ammeter and won't work easily in an AC-powered application. What would you like it to do, maybe have two positions, one for off and one for on?

3. Lila

Feb 14, 2015
    Wow that was quick :). My idea was to have it the gauge needle move when a lamp switch turned on. Just something that would be fun as an added feature to a lamp. It works when I test it on 2 double A batteries.

4. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010
    you need to add one more thing. a diode. this will block part of the AC voltage and let the meter operate on a pulsing DC waveform. the pulses will be at 60 hertz, so the needle might "jiggle" a small amount.
    the next problem is one of range. that meter can probably read very large currents. 80 or more amps and your lamp will probably only use 1 amp or less. the meter may not give you any needle movement when you turn on the lamp. the current may be to small.

5. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    How did you connect the batteries?