USB Sniffer

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ph88, Feb 10, 2011.

1. ph88

ph88 Thread Starter New Member

Hi!

I'm a student in electric engineering, for my internship my employer requested me to make an USB sniffer. I've been keyboard-jockeying for days now, looking at datasheets, specifications and models.

A short introduction for the ones who are not so familiar with USB.
    USB has four wires: gorund, Vbus, D- and D+.
    De data is provider bij D- and D+. The differential of the two respresents the data. The data is encoded with NRZI. A 0 will make the signal flip sign and a 1 will keep the same signal level. If a 6bits of 1 are sended an additional 7th bit (0) is send to make the signal flip. Adding this dummy bit is called bit-stuffing and is used to keep the clocks of the host and client in sync. The clocks are generated from the data signal.
    When the signal is received the NRZI is decoded and bitstuffing removed. Then the controller will detect the USB pakket start (start with a synac field). The packets are buffers which are called endpoints.
    CRC is applied to the packets to maintain data integrity. When an error is detected this will be flagged and the corrupt packet will be discarded.
    From the endpoints on the software will take over. The software will address the Host Controller Interface. They used to be of type OHCI or UHCI, but nowadays EHCI is used. All modern operating systems come with a Host Controller Driver (most of the time in the kernel).
    De the USB host (master) always start with communicating when it detects a newly connected device by measurement of voltage/impedance. The USB host sends the client a request to indentify itself, this information is called the USB descriptors. Then normal data transfer can proceed.
    Linux Kernel 2.6 will write the descriptors to "/proc/bus/input/devices" en the data to "/dev/xxx", where xxx represents the device.