USB protection circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by oznick, Jul 31, 2014.

1. oznick

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 31, 2014
    Hi everyone!

I was hoping to get some help with the following problem I encountered (I am a 2nd year Electronics Eng student, so if you can, please be kind, I'm still learning...;).

I'll try to describe the problem in a lot of detail:

I am installing an expensive stereo head unit in my car and it has a rear USB and an HDMI port for ipod/smartphone connection. According to the manual, you connect the USB cable and HDMI cables to an MHL adapter and plug that in to your smartphone - that's easy:)

But (!) the usb port on the rear panel is capable of supplying just 1A. I was hoping I could also attach and charge other devices, such as tablets, which require at least 2A current. So my idea was to buy a basic 12V to 5V converter from ebay and splice that into the VCC wire of the USB cable coming from the stereo. I believe, that should work (correct me if I'm missing something).

Now the question:
    What is the best way to protect the stereo, in case the cheap 12V-5V converter fails?
    Do you think just a 2-3Amp fast fuse going to be enough? or some dedicated protection circuit would be better?

Thank you!!

2. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    That's just stupid.

Buy the 2 A charger that plugs into cigaret lighter.

3. alfacliff

Dec 13, 2013
    the best protection for an expencive item is to use a cheaper one instead. use the car power to charge things, it is made to supply power, and the usb in your usb in the stereo is just another backdoor into your expensive stereo for problems and surges to enter.

4. oznick

Jul 31, 2014
    Yes, that's an option too. And I already have one.

The problem is that the usb socket on the stereo is also used for data - in the end, I'd still have to connect the two usb supplies somehow.

Edit: