USB I/O device

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Nocturnicon, Dec 18, 2008.

1. Nocturnicon

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 18, 2008
    Ok, I'm fairly new to electronics but already I'm getting the impulses of an evil genius. Basically what I want to do is to control my circuits with my computer. I work in the IT industry so the programming part is covered. I found two deviced at a local online suplier that look promising.

http://www.electronics123.co.za/Main.asp?D={F089554F-30C6-4E44-A486-710CA1E205E3}&PageType=Product&SKU=AD543

AND

http://www.electronics123.co.za/Main.asp?D={F089554F-30C6-4E44-A486-710CA1E205E3}&PageType=Product&SKU=VN413++++++++++

Questions are as follows:
    1) Which one of these two would you recommend and why?
    2) I'm assuming that because it's USB that it just pumps 5v to the device and from there on it's up to the circuit to do with it what it should. Is this basicly what the above two devices do?
    3) If my assumtion on question two are correct then would fitting a simple relay on the circuit do the trick?

The whole idea behind this is for a security system and home automation.

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    The first one needs an external power supply. It is good. Not much information about the second one.

3. Nocturnicon

Dec 18, 2008
    Any comment on my questions?

4. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    I can't really compare them. It does not take all the power form the USB it requires an external power supply (at least for the first device). For the first device if the relay draws less than 100mA and its coil voltage is less than 50V you can do it. Otherwise you need a transistor.

5. Nocturnicon

Dec 18, 2008
  6. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005