Urgent Help Please

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by MAZAR SCIENTIST, Jun 7, 2008.

1. MAZAR SCIENTIST

Thread Starter Member

May 8, 2008
    Hy I'm Mohamed and I'm studying electronics engineering and i wanna do my project after 2 years as a Robot plz.
    i wanna members here tell me what i should read and do to reach that thing
    should i begin firstly with micro controlling OR WAT I SHOULD READ AND LEARN BEFORE DOING THAT?
    AND I ASKED THAT QUESTION ON THE PROJECT CATEGORY AND MR BILL_MARDSEN TOLD ME TO ASK ENGINEERS HERE SO PLZ TELL ME
    THX AT FIRST

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    You may want to get you hands on a book that gives you an overview of robotics.

The website www.solarbotics.com sells a number of good reference books to kickstart you robotics project.

Junkbots, Bugbots and Bots on Wheels appears to be a popular book among robotic builders.

hgmjr

3. MAZAR SCIENTIST

Thread Starter Member

May 8, 2008
    thx so much hgmjr i will see them now

4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Form follows function, so what kind of robot would you be thinking of building for a first project? This really does determine the level of complexity for the electronics. Combat robotics, or it's cousins ordinance disposal and battlefield robots is mostly remote controlled, while the purists insist only a autonomous robot (one with a computer controlling it) are the only true robots.

What kind of programming skills do you have? I don't claim to know what would be needed, but I suspect learning to use the current microprocessor/controllers would seem a good place to start, such as PIC or AVR microcontrollers I've been hearing about. http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showpost.php?p=74114&postcount=6