UPS Setup using LI-Ion Batteries

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by SergS, Feb 12, 2014.

1. SergS

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 14, 2012
    Hello,

I am thinking of building an UPS that uses a few banks of 18650, 3.7 Li-Ion batteries.

Mainly i need 12v so, wiring them in sets of 4 (4x3.7v= 14.8v), should give me a lot of juice, and considering the price is somewhat lower than the old lead boxy ones, it should be a viable option.

The only concern is the charging circuit that must have good protections and at least 350W at about 2.5 Amps to run sensitive electronics.

This is the first step.

If any details, please ask. I have limited knowledge in electronics.

Thank you!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    Other concerns include: spending more money on parts than you can get the finished product for, spending hundreds of hours designing something that won't have the kind of safety certifications that make your insurance pay off if it catches the house on fire, and working from, "limited knowledge of electronics" to try to equal people with dozens of years of education and experience.

Just one persons opinion, but I refuse to spend dozens or hundreds of hours trying to design things you can already get cheaper at a retail store than what you'd spend for parts.

Those who disagree with me will be answering you soon.

3. tcmtech

Nov 4, 2013
    I don't see a single gain in using a Li Po battery bank system for such a device.

The control systems are designed to work with LA based batteries and their voltage drop curve and as far as sensitive electronics go running a modified UPS off of a non stock plus slightly higher voltage source is certainly not going to make things better. :confused:

If you need extra backup time just modify the UPS to run off an external deep cycle battery. I have done that to several and it works well.

4. burger2227

Feb 3, 2014