Unexplained voltage loss with relay

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by cocacolby, Jun 2, 2011.

1. cocacolby

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 2, 2011
    I'm pretty new to circuits but it really seems like this should be a lot easier than it is. I'm basically just trying to use a relay to trigger a 24v solenoid valve on and off. I have the coil part of the relay attached to LabView which just generates the 5v on/off signal. My problem is that for some reason when that 5v signal is plugged into the relay, I can only seem to get a reading of 1.4 volts no matter how high I turn up the voltage. Because of this I can't ever get the relay to switch. I've verified the signal coming out is actually 5, anyone have any ideas on this? Thanks in advance for any help.

p.s. The relay is a Gordos SM-0DC5 and I have it wired with a protective diode as well.

2. cocacolby

Jun 2, 2011
    Quick Update:
    My 5V signal is being sent out of a National Instruments 9263 analog out DAQ module. I tried generating a 5v signal using a DC power supply instead and found that I was getting 5 volts no problem. So I guess the updated question would be why can't my computer maintain 5 volts when my DC power supply can? Can I fix this somehow or am I screwed? Thanks

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    A quick search didn't turn up the Gordos part, but there is a Crydom datasheet that has the same part number, and similar appearance.

The link for the datasheet is on this page:
    http://www.datasheetarchive.com/pdf-datasheets/Datasheets-8/DSA-142814.html
    There is Crouzet datasheet with the same part number available on this page:
    http://www.datasheetarchive.com/Indexer/Datasheet-026/DSA00452953.html

Do you have the polarity correct on pins 3 and 4? Pin 3 needs to be more positive than pin 4 to turn it on; the range for your device is 3v minimum to 8v maximum.
    If pin 3 is <= 2v from pin 4, it should turn off.