understanding common capacitor analog design paradigms

rick5

Joined Jul 17, 2008
The funny thing with capacitors is that there appears to be absolutely nobody who fully understands how capacitors work in circuit, though most people on this forum know enough to get by and use them - and with SPICE tools you don't have to know very much as you can just play around until you get the waveform you want to see.

I reckon I could write a full book on capacitors and how to use them and do a great job of bluffing that I know how it works and everyone would believe I'm an expert.

I'm looking for resources that explain some of the common capacitor uses down to a level of electrons and electrostatic forces, for example with a coupling a capacitor between some arbitrary signal source of known output impedance and amplifier stage of known input impedance. How does that transmit the high frequencies of interest and block everything else?

Some people may think it's not appropriate to understand it down to this level in order to do good design.

The worst block to understanding is all this crap about "capacitors store charge".

One thing I've found in electronics is that you've got to break your head and bust your balls for years or decades before the understanding comes. Just having a degree is useless - no wonder everyone does software.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The funny thing with capacitors is that there appears to be absolutely nobody who fully understands how capacitors work in circuit, though most people on this forum know enough to get by and use them - and with SPICE tools you don't have to know very much as you can just play around until you get the waveform you want to see.

I reckon I could write a full book on capacitors and how to use them and do a great job of bluffing that I know how it works and everyone would believe I'm an expert.