under voltage circuit using op amps

shaunAES

Joined Jan 26, 2011
Hi Guy i'm new at this electronic circuit stuff. I need help to built a under voltage circuit using op amps. It's for powering LEDs @ 3.3V but when the 12V battery discharges too much it must cut off the supply to the LEDs.

ifixit

Joined Nov 20, 2008
Questions...
  1. At what voltage do you want the LEDs to cut off?
  2. What is the current (load) the LEDs are drawing?
Regards,
Ifixit

shaunAES

Joined Jan 26, 2011
Hi I need help with building a under voltage circuit using a op amp. The supply is a 12V battery which is going to turn ON LEDs at 3.3V. Before the battery discharges too much it must cut off the supply to the LEDs. Please help me with this circuit.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Two 30W LEDs rated for 3.3v operation would require a minimum of ~9.1 Amperes current if they were wired in series. That's a mighty hefty load. You will require a LARGE battery to get much of a run-time out of it.

You will also need a switching-type driver, as resistors for current limiters would result in far too much wasted power.

Do you already have a driver circuit for these LEDs?

What is your application? Why do you need LEDs that consume so much power?

In the meantime, look in the General Electronics Discussions forum in the Tips & Tricks thread, post #38 (I think) - if you discharge a 12v battery below ~12.05v @ 77°F, you will shorten the life of the battery considerably.

Last edited:

shaunAES

Joined Jan 26, 2011
These 30W LEDs are for a solar streetlight. Its a 12v solar system and the LEDs are 3.3V. All I need is a undervoltage op amp circuit to switch the LEDs off when the battery discharges too much.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
OK, what inverter are you using? Part number and manufacturer, or datasheet please?
You really need an inverter that will power them in series, otherwise you'll have a much higher current requirement.

What is the battery or batteries you are planning on using?