Ultrasonic agitation and mixing

EatingSnakes

Joined Oct 14, 2016
Hey guys

I'm an amateur biodiesel enthusiast
I want to increase the agitation between triglycerides and methanol to produce fatty acid methyl esters and want to use an ultrasonic transducer to do this.
I have seen successful test batch reactions in ultrasonic cleaners and wanted some advice on optimising the process.
Does the frequency/wattage need to be optimised to the size of the vessel in which the reactants are mixed?
Does the frequency/wattage need to be optimised to the viscocity (or other properties) of the reactants?
or is it as simple as increasing the frequency/wattage will increase agitation?

Thanks in advance for all the help

ES

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
Hey guys

I'm an amateur biodiesel enthusiast
I want to increase the agitation between triglycerides and methanol to produce fatty acid methyl esters and want to use an ultrasonic transducer to do this.
I have seen successful test batch reactions in ultrasonic cleaners and wanted some advice on optimising the process.
Does the frequency/wattage need to be optimised to the size of the vessel in which the reactants are mixed?
Does the frequency/wattage need to be optimised to the viscocity (or other properties) of the reactants?
or is it as simple as increasing the frequency/wattage will increase agitation?

Thanks in advance for all the help

ES
Mostly a function of wattage and viscosity. Lower viscosity materials are more easily mixed. Google "mixing energy".

Also, if two phases are present, (oil and methanol, for example) the rate of the reaction will be dependent on the rate of mixing - specifically, the shear or turnover at the liquid-liquid interface to remove product from the interface and replace with raw materials.