Ultra simple uber help

dingo

Joined Mar 11, 2011
Hi Everyone,
I've been messing around with TINA simulations but to no degree of success. I've also posted a similar thread but I guess the thread got carried away to a different discussion.

I don't know anything about the 555 timer.

Here is what I'm looking to do.

When circuit board is energized with 9v, then wait 10 seconds and an LED lights up.

Can anyone help me with the schematic? Do I need a 555 timer? Please help. I'm just a beginner.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
When circuit board is energized with 9v, then wait 10 seconds and an LED lights up.
There are a number of ways to do this and some involve the 555. But you could also do it with an RC tank (to give the time delay, while the big capacitor slowly charges thru the high ohms resistor), and a comparator to switch on the LED when the voltage on the cap has reached a preset reference value. The comparator and LED could be powered off the 9v source.

Only issue is a way to discharge the cap when the power is off. How often will the on/off cycling of the LED occur?

mbxs3

Joined Oct 14, 2009
What is the circuit going to be used for? Arduino would be very easy way to do this but might be a little more pricey then what some of the more knowledgeable guys recommend.

dingo

Joined Mar 11, 2011
thank you for reply, wayneh.

How often will the on/off cycling of the LED occur?
What do you mean by that? Sorry i don't know what cycling mean.

The LED should only light up once, then never again UNTIL I manually energize it again.

I hope i'm not confusing you.

dingo

Joined Mar 11, 2011
What is the circuit going to be used for? Arduino would be very easy way to do this but might be a little more pricey then what some of the more knowledgeable guys recommend.

Hello mbxs3,
The LED will actually be use as a reed relay to turn on a device. But right now I just want to make it simple and just light up a LED.

I'm just looking for a very inexpensive design.

wayneh