Typical or popular transistors?

Charliebrown60

Joined May 31, 2013
Hello all, this is my first time to the forum and I have a quick question.

I am trying to make an electronic switch using a very simple transistor circuit. I need to do some testing to see what my microcontrollers voltages are for bitwise 1 and 0 (i will post that later), then I will amplify it and direct that into the gate of an N type FET transistor (or at least that is my current plan). I used EveryCircuit to design this and the problem is that I dont know what common transistor characteristics are. I learned about transistors at my college this last semester and I know how to read the data sheets( to an extent), but I dont know what transistor to use or what characteristics are fairly standard for application.

so I would like to start by asking what transistors you use or recommend. How do I know what transistor to use? and how do I find the correct transistor based on the other components in my circuit.

I guess trying to figure out the serial numbers and all of their characteristics is a little scary.

thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
For a lot of hobby work, a transistor is almost a generic device. One of the biggest reasons to choose one BJT over another, IMHO, is the amount of current you need it to handle, and the related power rating. For more advanced designs you may have special needs that require high voltages or high frequencies, and then you will need to choose more carefully. But for a low voltage, slow switch application, just about any will do. Switching a MOSFET at low frequency requires nearly zero current, just the gate capacitance and the pull-down resistor.

Oh, and by the way, as a rule of thumb a BJT needs 10% of the current being switched to be applied to its base, in order to be fully turned on (saturated).

sheldons

Joined Oct 26, 2011