Two 555 timers with Transistors circuit problem

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by smartweb, Jun 28, 2010.

1. smartweb

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 28, 2010
    Hi everyone. I am a bit of a hobbyist but haven't done any electronics work in a while and am new to this forum. I am currently working on a project for fun. The basic idea of what I want the circuit to do is this:

Main Function of Circuit:
    ----------------------------
    1) User switches power on to circuit.
    2) Piezo siren triggers every few seconds for .5 seconds or so
    3) User adjusts potentiometer to set a time limit from 30 to 60 seconds.
    4) User presses a button which starts the first 555 timer as a monostable oscillator and stops the piezo siren from going off.
    5) After the first 555 timer sequence is complete, the second 555 timer is triggered as an astable oscillator to start, this powers a piezo siren every couple of seconds for a .5 second interval or so.
    6) User turns off power to circuit and siren doesn't play anymore.

Other Functions:
    ---------------------
    1) User can switch an LED off and on while the power is on to the circuit.

I had all 6 steps working perfectly on a breadboard and moved on to soldering everything onto a PCB board, but that is where my troubles started.

The Process I have gone through so far:
    --------------------------------------------