Two 12v 2a power supplies in series

odm4286

Joined Sep 20, 2009
Hello everyone first let me start by saying I am new to electronics so if my explanation seems a bit off please forgive me. So basically I wanted to create my own 24volt power supply for bread boarding projects. I found two old identical power supplies I had that were rated at 12v 2a.

I then googled a circuit that showed how to wire them in series here
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1170241

*NOTE my power supplies are not grounded (plastic case)

Now everything works great, but I'm having trouble wrapping my head around the concept. How exactly does the neutral of power supply two handle the increased voltage? Lastly, is this method safe?

Last edited:

aws505

Joined Mar 11, 2013
Sometimes you don't even need to break the earth-ground connection on the power supply. Think of how these power supplies are likely to be made: The mains voltage goes through a step-down transformer, then through a D-Bridge, then is likely smoothed by caps and regulated by a transistor network. The first step, the transformer, removes the output's reference to the AC line's neutral. Of course, I'm speculating. You should really look up the datasheet for your power supplies and see if they have a reference to the AC line's neutral. Alternatively, you can use a DMM to measure continuity from the minus output to the ground pin on the back. If it reads open (greater than 1MOhm), it should be safe to *try* hooking the supplies together without breaking the earth-ground.

Generally, if you can avoid breaking the earth-ground, it'll be better. Breaking the earth-ground connection can cause the case of your supply to float up to high(er) voltages and can either zap you when you touch it or it can arc to the other case if you put them close together.