Tutoring Students

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Yakima, Feb 16, 2015.

1. Yakima

Thread Starter Member

Jan 23, 2012
    I used to be a tutor back in the 1980s at the local college. I mainly tutored math and chemistry. Math up through calculus, chemistry except organic. Chemistry involved many concepts, but math was math no matter how complicated it got.

I got so I could see the difference between someone with a real mental deficiency and someone with an attitude problem. Most of my students fell into the latter category. I used to tell them that their grade was proportional to time spent studying, and then those with a really bad attitude would become hostile to that notion, and me. And when I told them math was fun, they'd go ballistic sometimes.

Be all that as it may be, I developed a philosophy -- or, should I call it a realization -- that my job was not to teach people how to think; but, rather, how to solve problems. Our ability to think has been given by God. I can't make them any better at it, really. But I've had teachers that thought otherwise. These believed they were actually teaching their students how to think by a method of giving them, what they thought was sufficient information to solve a problem, but not a demonstration of how to solve that problem.

I disagree with this type of teacher. God gave us the ability to think, not the teacher. And so, rather than teasing my students into finding the solution, I just showed them the solution. And, I suppose they were like me: In seeing the solution step by step, they developed the ability to comprehend mathematics. My job as a tutor, then, was to walk them through the solution so they understood it. My job was not teaching them to think. There is a big difference.