trying to run 270 LED's with 24volt battery

stevetekk

Joined Sep 1, 2012
Hi,
I am quite new to electronics however I have completed a couple of simple circuits (with the help of the software Crocodile Clips).
My new project is to light up 270 LED's with a 24volt battery. I am struggling to do so as I keep blowing the resistor (in the simulation), due to the reason I am merely guessing values.

They are 3mm LED's i am not sure of the voltage etc but for this is what the software tells me the LED's properties are:

Part parameters:
Maximum brightness current: 10 mA
Forward voltage at 10 mA: 2.0 V
Maximum reverse voltage: 5 V
Maximum current: 30 mA

I am running the circuit each led in paralel. So I have the battery connecting to a resistor (?) then connecting to the positive of each LED and back round again to the negative of the battery.

Please excuse my very limited knowledge.

Pulling my hair out. Any ideas would be much appreciated. Thanks

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

You can make 27 strings of 10 leds with a resistor in series.
The resistor value will be (battery voltage - (number of leds * voltage of leds)) / current through the leds.
I will calculate the resistor for 15 mA through the leds.
So (24 - (10 * 2)) Volts / 15 mA = 4 Volts / 15 mA = 0.266 kOhm.
Take the next higher value for the resistor => 270 Ohms.

Bertus

thavinator

Joined Jul 4, 2011
Here's a handy LED array calculator. Put in your parameters, and it will spit out several possibly solutions. Keep in mind that the battery will probably not be exactly 24V to start with, depending on chemistry, and the voltage will drop as the battery discharges, so you should tweak the design parameters to reflect actual battery voltage to avoid overdriving your LEDs.

http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz/