Trying to fix a receiver

SilvrEclipse

Joined Nov 21, 2007
Ok guys I have a sony stereo that the output transistors blew out in. The unit used to just stay in protection mode but now doesn't work at all and last time I plugged it in the relays just clicked rapidly and I believe a transistor got smoked. Now I am not really good with electronic trouble shooting so this is kind of a learning experience in hope of getting it back working also. I know it is more cost efficient to just buy a new one but like I said its a learning experience.

I found some heat spots on the board where it looks like a transistor burned and another piece I dont know what it is. The resistors look fine and so do the capacitors. I plan on removing most of the parts from the board and testing each one to see what I can find thats burned out. What are the chances of me fixing this stereo?

Also it has 3 chips on it, do these normally fry. I dont think they could be replaced very easily.

Here are some pics.. I marked the burned spots and what is that piece I put in the red box?

http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z173/SilvrEclipse/DSCF2652.jpg?t=1216245795
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z173/SilvrEclipse/DSCF2651.jpg?t=1216245830
http://i189.photobucket.com/albums/z173/SilvrEclipse/DSCF2650.jpg?t=1216245853

Thanks guys..

theamber

Joined Jun 13, 2008
You will need a schematics to speed up the troubleshooting and to learn about it.
You probably have a direct coupled amplifier and has caused what is called the domino effect. You may have several transistors burned up. I should be checking each diode out of the circuit and suspect of that power IC next to the sand resistors to be a candidate for the troubles. If you replace the transistors but did not get to the root of the problem they will blow up again.
Does your unit has an STK large IC? If so that goes out a lot too.

blocco a spirale

Joined Jun 18, 2008