Trying to build an op amp circuit with voltage shifting

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by marcelosouza, Aug 15, 2016.

1. marcelosouza

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 12, 2016
    Hi. I'm a newbie when it comes to electronics so be patient with me. I am trying to figure out a circuit that allows me to convert a signal of -0.55V ~ +1.5V that is generated by a LM35 IC temperature sensor to 0V ~ +2.4V.
    So, I think a op amp with an additional voltage shift to bring the -0.55V of the input to zero would do the job. This is where I am right now:

gain.png

So, this is just a simple gain 6, but I couldn't find out how to calculate the resistor values involved when the shifting gets in place to make it work with negative input values. I was trying to use the following schematics as a reference, but I didn't get it to work on my project:

OpAmp-Level-Shifter.gif

A few questions:

1 - Is rail to rail output required here?
    2 - Where do I get the Ref Voltage for shifting? Why is it usually 1/2 Vout? I only want to use my +12V source supply.

I appreciate all help.

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Just a question: How are you powering the LM35? It won't generate a negative voltage unless it is supplied a negative voltage. Maybe you could power your op-amp and ADC with the same supply. Since you aren't really amplifying the signal, maybe you don't even need an op-amp.

If your temperature never goes below ~1°C, you can forget about the negative voltage problem. I forget how close to 0°C you can get and still have an accurate output from the LM35.

Try switching R1 and R2 in your 2nd circuit. It looks to me like it ought to work. Did you build it or only simulate it?

Last edited: Aug 15, 2016
  3. KeepItSimpleStupid

Mar 4, 2014
    Again, just a question.