Troubleshooting ripple

D.T.

Joined Aug 15, 2014
Noob here. :D

We have a Kocour model #5-C 0-12V 5A rectifier for plating that has 11% ripple. It's fairly corroded and I went through most of the connections last night to help get the ripple down to 5% or less.

I'm using a Fluke scopemeter and can't seem to get rid of the 20mVAC of ripple at the output. Tested the diodes and capacitor they seem OK. I'm not the best electronic tech but I'm trying to learn.

Thanks in advance,
Dave

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
If you are using florescent lights in the facility, you are broadcasting ripple. The ground lead on the scope might be picking it up. Wrap the ground probe lead around tip of probe to shorten up. Did the plater work normally recently? Disconnect the plater. Attach appropriate resistive load(~2.5 ohm, 10 watt) to power supply. If ripple is gone....plater racks or hangers are picking it up. If ripple is still there, buy off the shelf 12 VDC, 20 AMP, switching power supply.....they are cheap. Get 20 amp, so supply is lightly loaded. What are you plating? Worked on copper, nickle, and chrome plater 45 yrs. ago. Can't recall ripple problems.

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Specs say:

Filtered DC current source
Output 0-12 volts DC with less than 3% ripple

3% of 12V is 360mV. What is the problem?

D.T.

Joined Aug 15, 2014
Specs say:

Filtered DC current source
Output 0-12 volts DC with less than 3% ripple

3% of 12V is 360mV. What is the problem?
I understand what you are saying. Our certification co. says there is 11% ripple. I found the 22mVAC with the scope.

The way I'm calculating ripple is ACmV divided by DCmV times 100 equals ripple %. I am taking the voltage values from across a 50mV 50A shunt under load. Since the ripple is there under load only I assume there is a bad connection somewhere.