Trip 5 IC anomaly

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by rc3po, Feb 12, 2014.

1. rc3po

Thread Starter Member

Feb 12, 2014
    I have found an interesting anomaly with the 555 IC. Everywhere I’ve read and looked, the #4 (Reset) Pin has voltage held high to allow the IC to conduct, and dropped low to turn off (Reset) the IC.
    I have 8.58V at 39.5mA at Vcc ( #8) Pin, when the IC conducts. As you can see in the schematic, I am controlling the IC through the Reset Pin ( #4), with a CdS Photocell Photoresistor. When light is removed from the CdS Photocell and the IC conducts, it sends 6.5V at 18.2mA to the Output ( #3) Pin & LED’s. Apply light to the CdS Photocell and the IC stops conducting and you get -0.2V at 0.0mA at the Output ( #3) Pin. Since I added a 4.7uF electrolytic capacitor to the Output Pin, the IC now conducts 7V to the LED’s.
    I am an Electronics Hobbyist who has been learning electronics for 1 year. I welcome any comments and ideas anyone has about what is going on with the IC. Thanks.

2. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012
    With no light on the CDS its resistance is high enough so that it does not pull the required 100ua Typ. from the RESET terminal to reset the 555, so it runs in the astable mode. Light on the CDS drops its resistance enough to pull current out of RESET and it stops the oscillation with the output low. If you look at the schematic and Fig. 1 of the datasheet, it shows RESET as the base of a PNP transistor which is current operated.

The cap on the output is integrating the oscillating output to give you a net higher voltage.

Welcome to AAC!

3. rc3po

Thread Starter Member

Feb 12, 2014
    Thanks JohnInTx,
    I'm also from Tx.