trigger reset newbie question

mark.beard

Joined May 23, 2010
Hi all

i'm trying to create a circuit that uses a 555 in astable mode to flip a led on and off for a 2 minute period - this is fine and simple enough. what i need is for an alarm circuit to activate when the LED state changes and have a reset function to silence the alarm until the next change of state of the LED when the alarm circuit should be triggered again. i have no issue with the alarm circuit, again this is simple enough but i cant work out how to use a reset that wont automatically get triggered straight away by the LED state being either high or low - if the above makes sense - please help! i'm thinking i need some kinda of latching mechanism but i'm new to this so its hard to suss out (for me at least) :)

any help very much appreciated.

Many thanks
Mark

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008
I've read and reread post & still confused so made some guesses: A trigger pulse starts oneshot, OS, A, 2 min., led on, alarm sounds, trailing edge triggers OS B for 2 min. OS B inverted and used to reset OS A, pin 4 ensuring that OS A will not be able to be retriggered for 2 min. If a reset pulse is initiated within the first 2 min, alarm is reset via OS B. If it is desired to reset alarm later more circuitry will be needed. Maybe you can provede an updated timing chart?

Attachments

mark.beard

Joined May 23, 2010
Hi Bernard

Thanks so much for your reply and diagram and for trying to understand my requirements. Maybe rather than trying to explain what i need from a technical standpoint a more basic approach would help you see what im trying to say.