Triangle wave generator... help

djex

Joined Feb 26, 2011
I'm working on a VCO (or would like to but I've pretty well pulled all my hair out and gotten know where so far)

First question before I get into what I'm trying to do. I've looked at many VCO schematics and some use a square wave generator and then wave shape the square into the other wave forms and some seem to have a separate generator for each wave form (triangle, square, sine, saw). Which would be the best way to go?

Any ways regardless I decided to start with wiring up a triangle waveform generator. I am new to this so forgive me if this is a trivial question.

I found a few triangle wave form circuits and they all were about the same so I decided to make this one http://falstad.com/circuit/e-triangle.html . Now the problem is I do not have a 1uF capacitor as this circuit has in it. The smallest I have is 10uF. But I do have a wide range of resistors so that's not a problem. So I substituted the 1uF for the 10uF cap in that circuit and adjusted the resistor values to produce a proper triangle wave again in the simulator on that site. Everything looked fine so I put it together on a breadboard and tested it. It didn't work.

I tried many times, rewiring and even swapping out op amps for different ones but still no luck. I now know I didn't calculate something right and or that simulator isn't accurate.

This is the circuit I built:

Voltage In DC: 6.2v
Capacitor: 10v 10uF
OP AMP: NTE859 (Quad op amp)

So I guess my question is where did I go wrong and is it even possible to change the capacitor value so drastically in this circuit?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
There are two parts to this circuit, the Schmitt Trigger (who trigger values are set by the two resistors on the input of the circuit) and the integrator, which consists of the resistor/capacitor on that op amp. All affect frequency.