Triacs (I would have used OR Gates)

dhalse001

Joined Mar 16, 2014
Hi all,
Apologies in advance. I’m a noob and have searched but only read some of the stuff on here.
I am going to control a small fan, which will run on AC mains power.
I have four live feeds coming in (all AC, just mains power again), that will be live at different times (different controllers will, depending on temperature, humidity etc, turn these wires live individually), and at any time that one of these wires is live, I want the fan to be live (turned on). I did some electronics at university (only one year), and all DC at 5V, and here we would have used an IC with four OR gates. But it's AC 230V (UK power).
I can’t just connect all the four positive (potentially live) feeds to the live of the fan, because one live feed will not only make the fan live, but also all of the other remaining 3 inputs live too. I can’t use diodes, because we’re talking AC power.
I thought about using an SSR for each of the four live feeds, which would keep their state independent of the states of the other wires regardless of which of the other four are live, but then that seemed excessive and expensive.
From what I can tell, the answer is to use four Triacs. Without knowing much about them, I guess for each of the four (potentially live) wires, I should feed that to the input and also the ‘gate’ of one of the four triacs, and the output of the triac should feed to the live wire of the fan.
Does that make any sense? Is this the best idea? :confused:
Many thanks for your helps
Dave.

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
With four 230 VAC sources that are not necessarily at the same line or neutral potentials, and a 230 VAC fan, you are correct, you need a 4-in OR gate. Actually, you need a dual 4-in OR gate with full isolation - four relays.