TRIAC question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Acouztica1205, Mar 23, 2012.

  1. Acouztica1205

    Acouztica1205 Thread Starter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    just gonna ask how to post lol.
    coz I cant post my question about TRIAC ,
    could an electrolytic capacitor be used in such circuit? sorry ^^
  2. Bill_Marsden

    Bill_Marsden Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    19,147
    Location:
    Dallas, TX (GMT-5 w/ DST)
    Welcome to AAC!

    A thread belongs to the OP (original poster). Trying to take over someone elses thread is called hijacking, which is not allowed at All About Circuits. I have therefore given you a thread of your very own.

    This was split from http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showthread.php?p=468784#post468784

    To start a new post just press the "New Thread" button on the middle left side of the screen.
  3. #12

    #12 AAC Fanatic!

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,390
    Location:
    15 miles west of Tampa, Florida
    Electrolytic capacitors are usually not used with triacs because triacs are usually used with rather high voltages and they don't need a lot of capacitance in their snubber circuit. Cheaper and safer to use film caps or ceramics.

    ps, triacs are used with AC current. A non-polar electrolytic is rather expensive.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
General Electronics Chat Question about opto-triacs Nov 30, 2009
General Electronics Chat Triac Equivalent May 14, 2014
General Electronics Chat triac triggering Oct 25, 2013
General Electronics Chat How to use TRIAC Sep 27, 2013
General Electronics Chat triac on 12v Aug 29, 2013

Share This Page