Transmitting 7MHz Signal Wirelessly

Discussion in 'Wireless & RF Design' started by Haxord, Jul 22, 2013.

1. Haxord

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 15, 2011
    Hello,

I am an Electronic Engineer who has not had much experience with practical wireless systems. I am currently facing a problem that I think I can solve using a wireless system.

There is an RF signal being transmitted via cable from one device to another (one way). Due to constraints at the location of these devices the cable cannot be used. I want to transmit this signal wirelessly. The signal itself is transmitted periodically and I am told it is a 7 MHz signal (I assume its digital but I could be wrong).

I would like some pointers on what technology is capable of transmitting this signal and reproducing it on the other end. References to books I could use or commercial off the shelf solutions would also be useful.

I would like to also test the signal using a scope and a spectrum analyzer however I do not have access to these devices any more. Once I have an idea on how the problem can be solved I would gladly invest in these if required :)

Any help/pointers will be appreciated. Thanks.

2. Sue_AF6LJ

Mar 16, 2013
    You need to consult FCC Part 15, I don't believe it would be legal to transmit that signal in the open air unless you can meet the Part 15 requirements.

Haxord likes this.
  3. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    You might want to consider combining that signal with a carrier signal in a frequency band where low power unlicensed operation is allowed. Furthermore, if the bandwidth of the information content is DC to 7 MHz., you're going to have to go up in to the microwave region to find a 7 MHz. wide channel. I can tell you from experience this is no place for amateurs and weekend dablers. The equipment is expensive and you may have to fund multiple tries before you get a workable solution.

Haxord likes this.
  4. vk6zgo

Jul 21, 2012