transmission distance in radio communication

bhuvanesh

Joined Aug 10, 2013
i have bought all the components to make radio transmitter and receiver.but i am week at basics i dont know which factor cause effect on transmission.i mean which decides transmission range

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
i have bought all the components to make radio transmitter and receiver.but i am week at basics i dont know which factor cause effect on transmission.i mean which decides transmission range
Everything
decides the "range". Frequency, Output Power, Receiver Sensitivity, Antenna Height, Antenna Gain, Terrain Profile, Type of Data, Bandwidth, Modulation Technique, . . . . . (have I left out anything else? )

It's difficult to answer your question at this stage. What do you want to transmit? What is the expected Range? If this is known, then we have a starting point to proceed from.

Ramesh

bhuvanesh

Joined Aug 10, 2013
my transmitting distance is just 2 or 3 meter.i am new to this.so first want to make a led on and off by switch via radio waves.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You might want to start by researching which frequency bands would support the legal pursuit of that activity. You can't just start spewing RF into the "ether" and expect to get away with it.

You might also want to reveal your location which will have an effect on the legal issues surrounding the construction and operation of a transmitter.

Ramussons

Joined May 3, 2013
my transmitting distance is just 2 or 3 meter.i am new to this.so first want to make a led on and off by switch via radio waves.
I guess that you are from India. Legally, you are permitted such activities only on the 2.5 GHz free band. With your background, it will be not easy to build a transmitter that meets the legal requirements. I'd suggest that you go in for a ready made unit, something like
Shop for remote LED on off on Google

Wireless Remote Led ...
Rs. 481.37
EachBuyer.co...

Ramesh

bhuvanesh

Joined Aug 10, 2013