Transistor Trouble: base-emitter voltage ~0

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by abelcorver, Apr 29, 2010.

1. abelcorver

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 10, 2010
    Hey everyone,
    I'm very new to electronics... Some time ago I posted some questions here regarding transistors... I got my basic flip-flop to work, however, I want to make a circuit which will allow me to toggle the two LEDs, just by pushing a button one time.

However, once I press the button, the base-emitter potential difference is ~0, or at least very (i.e. too) low for my circuit...

[​IMG]

[The brown dots indicate some spots where the voltages are all the same (~700 mV)]

Here is the Yenka file, in case that'll help:
    http://www.abelcorver.com/files/forums/problem_0.yka

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you! :D

Regards,
    Abel.

2. wannaBinventor

Apr 8, 2010
    Not completely sure.... I'm a newb myself, but I think you are getting 0 volts at that one emitter because there is no load between it and ground.

3. abelcorver

Apr 10, 2010
    Thanks wannaBinventor. Yeah, true, sorry if I didn't explain my problem properly, but the problem with that transistor is the (24-0) mV base voltage, which isn't enough to make the transistor conducting.

The other transistors even have a base-emitter voltage of 0! :confused:

4. rjenkins

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 6, 2005
    You don't have a resistor in line with the base of the lower left transistor.

The B-E diode effect is then causing the 700mV reading.

Likewise the upper right transistor (of the lower half).

5. abelcorver

Apr 10, 2010
    Aah thanks!! I seems to work great now! :D
    I still don't really understand all this though.
    Wasn't there a 10 kOhm resistor on the left in the very top row of resistors? So electricity had to pass through that one, right?

6. hobbyist

Distinguished Member

Aug 10, 2008

The top right transistor is connected to the LED and has the 10K resistor at its base to turn it on.