Transistor switch for LED array

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Phatness, Jun 9, 2013.

1. Phatness

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 9, 2013
    Hello everyone, this is my first time building a circuit and I'm having trouble understanding transistors. I don't know which values in the datasheet tell me how many volts and amps I need to turn on the transistor.

I am trying to create a 16x16 RGB Led matrix controlled with 8-bit shift registers (74HC595N). 1 output from the shift registers switches on a row of LEDs, if all columns are enabled that would be 48 LEDs.

With a 5V power supply I think this gives a total of almost 1A over the row transistor. Could I use a TIP120 with the base voltage coming from the shift registers, or would I have to amplify the logic current first?

I was also thinking about using 2 of the PN2222A per row so they each only had 24 LEDs which should require less volts and amps on the base pin...

The columns are controlled by a 2N3904, only 1 LED should be on at a time in a column so I'm less worried about this transistor. I want to control all of the transistors with signals directly from the shift registers (with 1 resistor), is this reasonable?

I haven't built any circuits before so I expect to be totally off, I've tried doing the math but I'm not really sure what values to use from the datasheets.

My schematic for the 2 transistors per row (24 LEDs) idea.
    [​IMG]

I'm basing this off of Kevin Darrah's 8x8x8 cube http://www.kevindarrah.com/?p=1424 which has 192 LEDs per "row" since my power needs are smaller I'm trying to reduce the complexity of the circuit.

2. Evil Lurker

Aug 25, 2011
    Thats a pretty neat looking toy.

Personally if you are looking to control a bunch of transistors would suggest using something like ULN2004 (I can't remember might be a ULN2002) transistor array which can directly interface with 5v signals as the base resistors are built directly into the IC.