Transistor Sizing

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Freenerd, Jan 31, 2009.

1. Freenerd

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 31, 2009
    I am working on a prototype garage project and stuck on how to select a proper transistor. I am pumping between 12vdc and 240vdc through the circuit depending on jumpers and am frying 2n3055's faster than a hen peckin scratch! I'm a complete novice in electronics but I'm trying hard. HELP!!!

What info is needed beyond the vdc to figure this out. I have know idea how to properly measure voltage & current through the transistor so I could use alittle help there also.

Thanks in advance.
    Freenerd

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    First, take care with the 240VDC, it is dangerous.

How do you produce 240VDC?

What is the maximum current the load needs?

3. Freenerd

Jan 31, 2009
    One goal is to regulate voltage across the range to support variable charge loads to battery banks which are supplying dc input to inverters. The 12 vdc to 240vdc is coming from batteries (and yep - I'm being VERY careful indeed!) I'm just a bit stumped on getting the high power transistors properly proportioned given the voltage range and potential amps. The circuit is divided into 6 parallel paths so I need to address all 6. I am anticipating current in the 0 to 40 - 60amp range spread across the 6 circuits. All goes well on the 2n3055's until I add a load - then... pop!

4. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    3055's are not rated for that voltage. If you simply run them as current switches (not in a linear mode), then a couple of IGBT's might be more the thing. They start with voltage ratings of 600 volts.

Tell us more about the circuit.

5. Freenerd

Jan 31, 2009
    Unfortunately I can't go into a whole lot of detail (secret stuff...) - I guess the more simple question would be: