transistor replacement

wmlowder

Joined Jun 1, 2010
Hello, I am a college engineering student. I need a certain transistor for a circuits class, the "2SC1162". However, when I went to a local electronics place to buy it, they looked it up and gave me the "NTE373". Is this an equivalent transistor? How is it possible to tell? Thanks!

wmlowder

Joined Jun 1, 2010
Which characteristics are the most important? i.e. I know a 5W resistor would work in the place of a 1W resistor, but I don't know if the characteristics on a transistor are maxes or what?

and also mine is the 1162, the datasheet you posted is the 1132

Bychon

Joined Mar 12, 2010
I labeled the file wrong. If you'd bothered to open it, you'd know that. Now, open the files and look at the ability to withstand the applied voltage, carry the required current, have the same or better gain (amplification factor) in the replacement, survive the power required, and such as that. The "important" characteristics depend on the circuit you are installing the transistors in, and I can't guess what they are because you didn't provide the circuit.

wmlowder

Joined Jun 1, 2010
I didn't open it yet because I did not yet know what to look for. I guess my question is, are higher numbers better for the transistor I got because it means that it can withstand higher current or voltage? back to my resistor example, a 5W could replace a 1W but a 2k ohm would not replace a 1k ohm. So are all the ratings on the transistor datasheet the maximum voltages and currents? If it had a different gain wouldn't it be incompatible as a replacement?

Damo666

Joined Aug 25, 2009
Hi. In general; higher power dissipation, higher Vce, etc are fine. The main things you need to compare, and keep an eye on are hfe(gain) and operating frequency..... Particularly at rf frequencies. What is your application buddy? Regards. Damian.

wmlowder

Joined Jun 1, 2010