Transformer wire question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by cncfan, Nov 20, 2010.

1. cncfan

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 20, 2010
    I have no real knowledge of electronics’s , my only experience is back in the Heathkit days I build a number of their kits from a simple digital clock to a 25inch color TV they had. What little I picked up back then has left me too many years ago. Well fast forward many many years and I came across a article in the Silicon Chip magazine on building an Ultrasonic cleaner. Thought it would be an interesting kit to build as the cost for a commercial unit of any size is more than I want to spend.

I started sourcing the parts needed and came across this reference to what wire is used to wrap the transformer.

“Then wind the primaries, using 14 x 0.20mm or 14 x 0.18mm figure-8 cable - Bifilar winding...."

I googled “figure 8 wire” and saw reference to what I know as zipcord/speaker wire/extension cord. Also the reference “14 x .20mm or 14 x .18mm” has confused me a bit.

After checking a few different sizes of zip/speaker wire I had on hand, none of it come close to any of these parameters. Back to google and still not finding the answer I was looking for.

I would much appreciate someone explaining to me just what they are referring to when they say figure-8 wire, 14 x .20mm. If you could point me to a site on the internet that carries it I would also appreciate it.

The article says there is at least 900v on the transformer so I would like to get this right and hopefully reduce my chance of seeing smoke when I plug it in.

Any input welcome, thanks

2. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    I would just like to add that I have no clue.

Is it 14 strands of .2 mm wire?

14 gauge is 2mm...

24 gauge is .202mm

Are they requesting 14 loops of .2mm bi-filar ?

I dont know. Bring on the big guns.

Can you give us the link to the build?

3. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007