transformer basics

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by adamclark, Oct 30, 2013.

1. adamclark

Thread Starter Member

Oct 4, 2013
    hello,, Im currently selecting components to build my new power supply. Im trying to choose the transformer for it and I have a good selection of scavenged transformers. the only problem is that none of them have any markings so I cant find any info on them. my goal is vairiable 3.5v,5v,9v,15v, and 24v with at least 2 amps of current available.. How do I find out what voltages and amps my transformers are? some of them come from old wallwarts and when I plug them in to the wall and measure them most have between 7 and 12v AC.. is that normal? I thought that they had ac input and dc output. Im still pretty new at this and this will be my first major project ive done. Ive found some schematics and most use the lm317 as the voltage regulator and the dats sheet on those says the 317 will only do 1.5a max so whats a better choice? I just need some beginner info asap to base my choices on on and go from there. thanks

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Wall Warts come in all flavours, they can be AC OR DC output, older ones are often the unregulated type and relied on the rated load to bring them down to their rated voltage.
    Modern types now are generally regulated by a switching supply rather than linear type.
    These output the rated voltage exactly.
    The mains transformer in many of the linear type are not that high a va rating, with typically just a a couple of amps maximum.
    Max.

3. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    Transformers change AC voltage. A rectifier (bridge diode or pair of diodes) flip the negative-going half of the AC signal (pulsed DC). A capacitor from the diode outputs to ground will filter the pulse to a DC with a bit of a sawtooth on top of the DC voltage. A voltage regulator will remove most of the sawtooth (ripple) and output your desired voltage.

4. adamclark