traffic light controlled by 4 position switch

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tmdteach, Oct 3, 2012.

1. tmdteach

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 3, 2012
    My 10 year old son wants to be a working traffic light for Halloween. He loves learning about circuits. I want to wire a very simple circuit using a 4 position switch so he can control the state of the light: Off, green only, yellow only, red only. I was thinking of using 3 battery operated LED Christmas string lights as the light sources. I am a novice but am willing to tackle this with some guidance.

So...
    1) Can I use a 4 position switch for what I think I can (to create those 4 states)?
    2) Can I strip the battery connector off the string lights, connect to the 4 position switch and then reconnect the switch to a battery compartment?
    3) Do you recommend a different light source or wiring arrangement (the simpler the better)

This is a homemade costume that he is in charge of with wiring help from me (from you:) ). He's thought of using transparent colored plexiglass (or maybe transparent colored plastic plates) for the lenses, a painted cardboard box, cardboard or foam for the lens visor. Comments or help is tremendously appreciated.

2. elec_mech

Nov 12, 2008
    Welcome to AAC!

This is fairly straight-forward. I assume you are talking about white LED Christmas lights that are battery-powered? If so, you can remove the battery packs from the lights and wire them as shown in the attached image. Be sure to pay attention to which wire goes to the + and - of the battery packs - orientation is critical.

Take a look at the image and let us know if you have any questions.

I'm not sure where you are located, but if in the U.S., you can purchased colored plastic from here: http://www.tapplastics.com/product/...plastic/acrylic_sheets_transparent_colors/519

I suggest the dark red, dark green, and dark yellow.

3. tmdteach

Oct 3, 2012