Traffic Light Circuit

Lightme

Joined Aug 6, 2011
Hey, I am new to this site but I am having a hard time making sense of making my circuit.
I am new to circuit maker and this is my first piece of work, I have to make a Traffic light sequence, I have already made my circuit,

The set of traffic lights controlling the crossing between Herjal Lane and Mainland Avenue in Venice, operates in the following sequence :-

L3 L2 L1 Herjal Lane, Mainland Avenue,
0 0 0 Red, Green ,
0 0 1 Red, Green ,
0 1 0 Red, Amber,
0 1 1 Red & Amber, Red,
1 0 0 Green, Red,
1 0 1 Green, Red,
1 1 0 Amber, Red,
1 1 1 Red, Red & Amber,

I know I need two traffic lights for this, and I know the order in which they change, But you see I don't know where to go from there, I have created the circuit and I know I have to create a logic that turns outputs q3, q2 and q1 into the right logic that illuminates the correct traffic light.

The problem is I have been trying for hours, but I don't have a clue on how to create the logic to change the traffic lights. Do I need to connect two traffic lights to one circuit? or do you think I need two separate circuits for Herjal and mainland?

Thanks

Lightme

Joined Aug 6, 2011

That's the question, I have to use the specified circuit, what I am stuck on is how to apply the logic to the circuit once I have made it.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Hi Lightme,

Welcome to the forum!

I don't have a lot of time, but this looks like fun. Okay, so at the bottom of your problem statement, it says you will need two sets of traffic lights, so that implies at least two 74LS293's and two sets of lights. I'd start by looking at how to control one set of lights first.