traces on a pcb using a 9 volt battery?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by AXmichigan, Aug 7, 2009.

1. AXmichigan

Thread Starter Member

Jun 17, 2009
    hey guys
    so i was working on my new project was designing my new pcb
    i was just added traces ( i am completely new to the whole pcb designing)
    and was wondering, with a 9 volt battery what size traces should i use for connecting the parts together?
    i read somewhere that i should use .050" traces for power and 0.010" otherwise for 2 amps & 0.3 amps, respectively. but i was looking up the specs on a 9v battery and it barely gives out 1amp (not to mention my circuit does not require a huge amount of current)

what size should i use of the power traces and connecting the parts?
    thanks!

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    For a 9V battery it doesn't matter. The power capacity of a 9V is so down there it rates right in with the rest of the parts. Be sure to have bypass caps for the digital chips, and your good.

3. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
    If you are just starting out on making PCBs, I recommend making your traces larger than 10 mil, unless that size is actually needed for space reasons. 24 mil is plenty small for most applications. You might even consider 32 mil, as with wider traces you are less likely to run into problems in production.

John

4. AXmichigan

Thread Starter Member

Jun 17, 2009
    So I should (using Express PCB) use 0.020" for normal connections, and 0.030" for power
    is that good?

5. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
  6. AXmichigan

Thread Starter Member

Jun 17, 2009
    great!
    thanks for the help

i think the max current is ~200 mA = 24 mils = 0.024"
    so i was wondering
    so i will do this for the pump/power parts, should i make it less for the other parts?

7. AXmichigan

Thread Starter Member

Jun 17, 2009
    please help!
    do i need different size traces then?
    if so, then what sizes??

8. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008