Toy Piano Project

Discussion in 'The Completed Projects Collection' started by edwardholmes91, Apr 29, 2013.

1. edwardholmes91

Thread Starter Member

Feb 25, 2013
    555 Timer Toy Piano

Hello everyone, I am an electronic engineering student studying at Staffordshire University and currently completing an industrial placement. I was given the most amazing opportunity ever at Christmas, the chance to visit the USA for 3 months during the summer and teach children, but not only that, I would be teaching them electronics! For two months I will be working at a Science and Engineering Camp in PA teaching children ages 8 – 17 electronics and touring for a month before returning to the UK to complete my final year of studies.

I have been told that the camp has projects available for the children and the children may also design their own if they wish. I was also asked to bring an idea/project with me to camp that I could teach the children.

I set about looking for suitable projects. Having just purchased a series of Mini Engineers notebooks written by Forrest M. Mims I started to flick through the circuits listed, looking for one that may be suitable. I immediately stumbled upon a 555 timer circuit that made a toy organ. I studied the circuit and couldn't believe I had never seen or thought of such an ingenious circuit before! It consisted of a 555 timer and various selectable values of C1 that were wired in parallel.

[​IMG]

Toy Piano as viewed from the top.

[​IMG]

Toy Piano as viewed from the base.

[​IMG]

Schematic