touch screens

rougie

Joined Dec 11, 2006
Hello,
I am a newbie when it comes to touch screens. I have a small 4 wire resistive touch screen approx. 2" diaogonal. It believe that the outer edge two wires of the FPC cable are "+". Where as the two other wires are the return signals each in respect with their "+" wire. I am applying 3.0VDC at the "+" wires and trying to read the output voltage on the return wires as I move an object pressing on the touch screen.

The problem is, I am reading a steady 3.0VDC on the return wires no matter where I touch on the touch screen.

Has anyone done this before? If anyone can help, it would be very appreciated.
Thanks

Ross

Attachments

colinb

Joined Jun 15, 2011
Good point chrisw, if he just wants to use the screen (as opposed to learning how it works and doing it himself for educational value) then a dedicated touch screen interface IC would be a great idea. Most that I have seen are I²C but as chrisw points out there are SPI ones as well. They are really simple to use and might save power in the end.

rougie

Joined Dec 11, 2006
hello colinb,

Yes that's the exact document I read late last night. I tried it and it worked. I tried the "x" axis reading it via the "Y+" output. So I have made a schamatic. On how I got it to work, please view attachment "Touch Screen Bias".

Also, the "Y-" can't always just stay open. It also has to be tied to ground when we want to measure the y axis via the "X+" output. So I would need the PIC to control the "Y-" to be at "Open" state at one instance and "grounded" state in another instance. I am Planning to do the circuit outlined in attachement called "touch screen transistor". I have not tried this though... I am not that good at electronics. I was wondering if you can take a look as to weather or not I should proceed this way. I was planning to use a 2n2222 with a 1K ohm resistor!

Your help would be very appreciated. Thanks.