touch alarm

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
Check out the Picaxe 18M2 microprocessor. It has a touch input or 2. This would make this project very simple. Look at the picaxe website and join the forum. They are a really knowledgable and friendly bunch.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
I'll never figure out why this younger crowd loves to complicate things by using microprocessors when so many much simpler to construct circuits still exist.

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007
I'll never figure out why this younger crowd loves to complicate things by using microprocessors when so many much simpler to construct circuits still exist.
They're just using current technology! Remember, vacuum tubes still exist. ;)

I can make an 8-pin PICAXE with 256 instructions, dance circles around a one, or dozen, 14-pin logic chips...and I'm no programmer. I'm 65 (well, I will be tomorrow), and love simple, basic electronic circuits. But to get that much control in that small a package...wow! :)

The thing I think they do miss though, is the understanding of basic components...whether discrete, or hidden in an epoxy block.

One could say the same about circuit simulators. I would say they're missing out on the magic smoke experience. ;)

Ken

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
I'm flattered! Thanks for putting me in the"younger crowd", I'm 63. Now if I could get my teen aged grandaughter to agree with you I'd be all set.

I don't see how microprocessors complicate things, especially with the Picaxe system which can be made as simple as you like or as complicated as you like. 7th graders are using them.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
They're just using current technology! Remember, vacuum tubes still exist. ;)

I can make an 8-pin PICAXE with 256 instructions, dance circles around a one, or dozen, 14-pin logic chips...and I'm no programmer. I'm 65 (well, I will be tomorrow), and love simple, basic electronic circuits. But to get that much control in that small a package...wow! :)