toroid suggestion

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by chunkmartinez, Feb 10, 2013.

  1. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    Hey guys, can anyone suggest a toroidal core for ac mains?(60hz) I am ordering an IC power amp and it takes in AC mains for the supply rails and I want to wind a 1:1 center tap transformer so I can simple keep the voltage the same but split the voltage in half for a dual voltage supply for the amp.
     
  2. paulktreg

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 2, 2008
    611
    120
    So much easier to buy one? I can imagine the hassle winding onto a toroidal core beyond believe?
     
  3. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    I was hoping to save cost...
     
  4. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    Actually you are probly right, anyone know an already made transformer for mains that hardly steps the voltage down(100v secondary is fine) or 1:1? with center tap..

    Unless there is a simple solution to create a balanced split supply but i know that it is very difficult to keep them balanced.
     
  5. shortbus

    AAC Fanatic!

    Sep 30, 2009
    4,004
    1,525
    chunkmartinez likes this.
  6. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    Man you are awesome! Good prices..
     
    shortbus likes this.
  7. takao21203

    Distinguished Member

    Apr 28, 2012
    3,577
    463
    http://www.antekinc.com/details.php?p=532

    55 dollar is indeed a very good price.

    I have such a toroid here. Shorting them is not adviseable at all- they will start to fizzle immediately and turn hot within seconds.

    Rectifier diodes will explode immediately as well.

    I use a bridge with a large heatsink. Right now only one winding at 200 Watts.
     
  8. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    They all say out of stock I hope they are in stock.
     
  9. SgtWookie

    Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    Unfortunately, Antek Inc. recently suffered a fire in their office and warehouse spaces. Try to be patient, as it's going to take a little time to re-build and then build up their inventory again.
     
  10. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,421
    3,357
    Was the fire caused by one of their transformers overheating?
     
    Brownout likes this.
  11. chunkmartinez

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jan 6, 2007
    180
    1
    Thats too bad..

    lol...
     
Loading...