to learn or not to learn

kaynenorth1

Joined Feb 13, 2012
do i need to learn languages like python , matlab , java in order to increase my knowledge in embedded system...
i have been working on 8051 for past two months on keil ide using C language..

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
I would say no. Depending on what you do. It may help to know a how make programs on a PC. I use C on PICs. On the PC side I use Labview. I tried to learn Visual C++ but gave up.

kaynenorth1

Joined Feb 13, 2012
well i am an student of electronics and in future i would like to dedicate myself in development of embedded systems and microcontrollers..so do i need to learn those languages...

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
t06afre said:
I tried to learn Visual C++ but gave up.
The language is C++ ,Visual is just a name given by Microsoft to their C++ compiler. If you already know C then you know a part of C++ .You can say C is just a sub set of C++ .When Object where add to C it became C++ .But in case of most (not every) embedded systems OOP (Object Oriented Programming) is not needed ,so C is just enough .When complexity increase we programmers need OOP to make our life easier.

And don't give up, its not that hard rather it’s more interesting...

debjit625

Joined Apr 17, 2010
kaynenorth1 said:
do i need to learn languages like python , matlab , java in order to increase my knowledge in embedded system...

well i am an student of electronics and in future i would like to dedicate myself in development of embedded systems and microcontrollers..so do i need to learn those languages...

Well learning is not bad ,so as per me you should learn them. They can have some use on embedded systems for example Java it runs on many embedded systems like you may have seen on many smart phones its an OOP language which lets programmers do some complex stuff on embedded systems with an ease .