To build a 5k watt converter.

kyresearcher

Joined Jul 19, 2012
I am interested in building a 5000 watt converter, dc 12v to ac 120.
I am wondering if anyone could provide a parts list for the build? and I had another question, if building a 5000 watt converter, with the parts list, can items be doubled like diodes or resistors to make it a 10k converter? I am new to the build, but have used converters for a few years. I just cant find a parts list online for anything bigger than a 100 watt converter, where the author states that building 10 100 watt converters us as good as 1 1000 watt converter, just dont sound right to me. Any help?

cork_ie

Joined Oct 8, 2011
Inverter?

True sine wave or simulated sine wave?

Many of the modern inverters of this size are microprocessor based and run on software (constant monitoring of battery voltage, can drive CFL lamps etc etc.) You are unlikely to build anything as good on hardware only.I
t is also unlikely you would even buy the components for the price of an off the shelf ready built unit.
If you want to learn and have lots of free time - great it would probably be worth the effort

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Here's a start: 5000 watts out of a 12 volt battery is 416 amps if you can achieve 100% efficiency...which you can't. That's about half a dozen 4 gauge welding cables on each terminal of the battery. Then you have to split the current up to go through the tiny legs of the transistors, then put them all back together into an 8 gauge wire to carry the 41 amps of 120 volts. A 100 amp-hour car battery will last less than 15 minutes, and probably melt from the heat it is producing.

Is that what you had in mind?

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
A 5000W converter would be cheaper to buy then to build. It would also work much better, and if you choose the correct source it will also have a warranty.

In general, this applies to EVERYTHING.

Joined Nov 30, 2010