Timed Single Phase Motor Control

Rising Fawn

Joined Aug 9, 2016
Hello.
I'm new to this forum, and I hope I posted this in the right spot.
I'm a retired Mechanical Engineer that also ran my own Electrical Contracting Business for many years.

My brother asked me to help him with a ...what should be....simple control circuit on a 5HP Single Phase Vacuum Cleaner at his car wash.
Unfortunately, I've been retired for several years, and my memory has faded. What used to be easy has apparently been lost with age.

The Control that he needs will allow his customers to power the Vacuum Cleaner for 2 minutes by depressing a Momentary Contact Switch.
At that point, the Vacuum will shut off and cannot be restarted for 2 minutes. At the end of 2 minutes, depressing the start switch will repeat the cycle.
Using a Single Shot timer and Motor relay, I can easily run the motor for two minutes and have it shut off.
The problem that I'm having is the time delay circuit to prevent the motor from being restarted until 2 minutes has elapsed.
As his control is now, the Vacuum motor is turned on and off by a simple 2 position toggle switch, which some of his customer's forget to turn off.
This leads to the motor running for hours sometimes with no one there.

Any reply is appreciated
Thanks

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
There is a few ways, what are you using for the one shot timer?, you could run another timer simultaneously for 4 minutes and use it to disable the restart of the 2 min timer.
555 timers could be used.
Max.

Rising Fawn

Joined Aug 9, 2016
There is a few ways, what are you using for the one shot timer?, you could run another timer simultaneously for 4 minutes and use it to disable the restart of the 2 min timer.
555 timers could be used.
Max.
I thought that it might require two timers, but I was hoping that it might be more simple than that.
Thanks

Rising Fawn

Joined Aug 9, 2016