Timed Robot/Circuit - Need a circuit to turn LED on and off at specific intervals

zaidpirwani

Joined Jun 20, 2009
Hi, I hope this question is in the right forum.

I am new to practical electronics, I am saying this as I have good theoretical knowledge but no practical experience.

I have to make a robot, I have assembled it. the goal is to run it in a desired path and switch on LEDs at specific places.

I am not using any kind of sensors and just want to turn the right motors at the right times.

For the sake of simplicity, I am testing with LEDs right now and if my circuit works then I will just change the LEDs with relays connected to motors, I can use both normal relays and latching relays (which only need a pulse to turn on or off).

Suppose I have 4 LEDs (L1, L2, L3 and L4) and they have to turn on and off like this.

1. Everything should remain off at first for about 10 seconds.
  2. L1 should turn on for 10 seconds then turn off.
  3. L2 should turn on for 5 seconds then turn off.
  4. L1 should turn on for 25 second and then turn off.
  5. L3 should turn on for 5 seconds then turn off.
  6. L4 should turn on for 5 seconds and then turn off.
  7. L1 should turn on for 20 seconds then turn off.
  8. L4 should turn on for 5 seconds and then turn off.
  9. L3 should turn on for 5 seconds then turn off.
  10. L1 should turn on for 25 second and then turn off.
  11. L3 should turn on for 5 seconds then turn off.
  12. L4 should turn on for 5 seconds and then turn off.
  13. THE END.

That's about it. I have tried using 555 Timers, in Monostable mode, but the problem is that 555 timers just turn on after trigger is pressed and then turn off after a while. But I need to turn on and then off at specific times.