Time delayed relay board

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by JonL, Aug 9, 2012.

1. JonL

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 9, 2012
    Hello,

I'm working on a small project, and I need to switch on an USB hub after a small ammount of time (60s, maybe 90s).

I bought this relay board: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150868252143&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:GB:1123

So, I've connected Vcc and GND, and I got the red LED lit up. Problem is, the timed delay never triggers, and I never get the green LED lit up.

Also turned the timer knob, but got no luck.

So, as anyone used this kind of board? Do I have to connect anything else?

Complete noob here...

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    It's tough to tell since I can't read chinese, but I think you need an external trigger signal, not just power applied.

3. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010
    My guess is that the two header pins on the same end of the pcb as the power connections have to be shorted together to start the timer. The pot is to adjust the delay time.

4. JonL

Aug 9, 2012
    Well, there's an IN label there next to the GND pin, but no pin.

5. JonL

Aug 9, 2012
    Thanks, I'll try shorting those pins.

6. JonL

Aug 9, 2012
    Shorting those pins made the green LED lit. :D

Now, the problem's that the timer delay never ends. I tried the pot turned all the way clockwise and all the way anti-clockwise, but it never triggers... oh well...

Any more suggestions? Or does anyone know a relay board of this kind that is known to work well?

7. BSomer

Dec 28, 2011
    Once you shorted them did you remove the short? It is probably a trigger input that just requires a pulse (on/off) not a constant on.

8. JonL

Aug 9, 2012
    I tried removing the short now and that worked.

So, that means that I'll have to apply a 5V pulse to those two pins in order to make the trigger work?

9. tracecom

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 16, 2010