three phase connection, RMS, advantages

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by PG1995, Apr 17, 2011.

1. PG1995

Thread Starter Active Member

Apr 15, 2011
    Hi

We have a single phase connection. It's 220V. I think it's RMS value so the peak voltage would be around 311V. Two wires are used for this single phase connection (forget the earth wire we don't use it here, we use circuit breaker for every room). I don't know anything about three phase connection. I want to when such a three phase connection is required and what its advantages are as compared to single phase. Please remember that I'm a beginner so please try to explain things using math formulas. I'm after conceptual understanding. Thanks.

RMS value is a kind of 'average' voltage. If RMS is 220V then that means it would deliver the same amount of power as a 220V DC supply. Correct?

The following picture shows that Phase 2's peak is 120° out of phase from the Phase 1's and Phase 2's.

[​IMG]

All the three phases (three voltage waves) have the same peak voltage which means same RMS value. If the peak voltage for all the phases is 311V then the RMS would be 220V. Correct? Then, doesn't it look as if we have three 220V DC supplies in parallel? Please tell me.

How many wires are used for three phase connection ignoring the ground wire?

I have been told that three phase connection is used for power hungry devices. If we have three batteries in parallel then they have the capacity to deliver more power than a single battery.

Please guide me with the above stuff. Thanks a lot for your help and your time.

Regards
    PG

2. t_n_k

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 6, 2009
    I wouldn't fancy living / working there if that is in fact the case - perhaps you mean there are residual current device (RCD) or Earth Leakage circuit breakers used in every room.

3. PG1995

Apr 15, 2011
    Yes, this device:

[​IMG]