This may be a dumb question.

Javafiend

Joined Aug 3, 2008
But here it goes.. Im new to microcontrollers. And I have Extensive knowledge of Windows, and some BASIC programing knowledge (All-be a bit out of date).. But microcontrollers looks interesting to learn.. Does anyone have a idea of a good place to start and which chip I should start on?? any help would be great.. Thanks for your time..

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
What expenditure are you able to make in purchasing the tools you need to pursue your interest in microcontrollers?

hgmjr

John Luciani

Joined Apr 3, 2007
But here it goes.. Im new to microcontrollers. And I have Extensive knowledge of Windows, and some BASIC programing knowledge (All-be a bit out of date).. But microcontrollers looks interesting to learn.. Does anyone have a idea of a good place to start and which chip I should start on?? any help would be great.. Thanks for your time..
I would start with an Atmel ATmega168. It is a low cost chip (apx $3-$4) and there
are a variety of development boards available.

The boards I have developed are at www.wiblocks.com

(* jcl *)

roddefig

Joined Apr 29, 2008
The AVR Butterfly is a cheap ($20) development kit for the AVR. http://www.atmel.com/dyn/Products/tools_card.asp?tool_id=3146

You can also take a look at the MSP430. TI offers an MSP430 dev kit on a USB dongle for roughly the same price. http://focus.ti.com/docs/toolsw/folders/print/ez430-f2013.html

Though I've listed both for the sake of being impartial I would recommend the AVR chips over any of TI's offerings as TI has a history of abysmal tech support and shoddy products. And, the Butterfly has more peripherals (read: toys) than the TI kit. ;)

Voltboy

Joined Jan 10, 2007
I started with a PIC starter pack, and i heard BASIC stamp is great, but its kinda expensive.. PICs are very good, I recommend it.

MusicTech

Joined Apr 4, 2008