This is a picture from a circuit simulator i need help

mikelynch

Joined Jun 30, 2007
I asked how could I get 6.6 volts from a microcontroller whose pins only put out 3.3 volts.

Well please know I am a real beginner. I downloaded LTSpice and ran this program that was sent to me(the attachment) suggested.

Im not sure what is going on, hovering over the parts and getting the little information that shows up isnt really helping.

Has he used two pins (the 3.3volt pins of the microcontroller) where is the ground ? Is this demonstrating a 6.6volt output ?

The whole reason for my question is I wanted to drive a sensor that needed 6 volts rto work and I wanted to do it via the 3.3volt pins.

Could you explain what is actually going on in this diagram and talk to me like I'm a 7 year old :confused:

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Check out the AAC lessons found on the tabs at the top of this page, Volume III, Chapter 3 - Voltage Multipliers

In your case, V1 is fixed +3.3V. V2 is a square wave signal, 0-3.3V.
VOUT will be about 5.4VDC.

Because of D1, the node at C1, D1, D2 does not fall below 3V.
When V2 is raised to 3.3V, the voltage at the node is raised to 6V,
D2 conducts to charge C2 to about 5.4V.

Last edited:

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
There is a problem with the posted LTSpice circuit that prevents it from doing anything...

Before we worry about that, state your sensor's requirements more precisely:

What is the exact voltage that your sensor needs to operate?
How much current does it require to operate?

mikelynch

Joined Jun 30, 2007