Thevenin Theorem.Need Help!!!

ELECTRONERD

Joined May 26, 2009
Let's start with deciding an analysis method. Thevenin's theorem simply states that any complex network of resistors, voltage sources, current sources, etc. can be simplified to a single voltage source in series with a resistor. We may use any analysis method (nodal analysis, mesh analysis, source transformations, etc.) to analyze your circuit. Which analysis method do you prefer?

ayide048

Joined Jun 2, 2010
im not really sure because im studying circuit in japanese, i use method which

I=E/Ri+R

calculated
Ri= 1/(1/4+1/4) = 4/3Ω
R= 12

but i dont know how to determine the open circuit voltage..
so...

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
Find Vth by any method you prefer to circuit analysis by remove from the circuit 12 Ohm resistor.
To find Rth
1. Replace voltage sources with short circuits and current sources with open circuits.
2. Find equivalent resistance seen at AB point.

The Electrician

Joined Oct 9, 2007
Have a look at this:

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_1/chpt_10/8.html

and this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thévenin's_theorem

In your circuit if you remove the 12Ω resistor from the a-b terminals, and then replace the 80 volt source with a short circuit, and the 8 amp source with an open circuit, the resistance looking into the a-b terminals will be 4Ω; this is Rth (or Req).

To calculate the open circuit voltage, notice that the 2Ω resistor has no effect. Then calculate the voltage drop across the 4Ω resistor. If the 12Ω resistor is absent, how much current will there be in the 4Ω resistor? If you know the current in the 4Ω resistor, you know the voltage drop across it. That voltage drop is in series with the 80 volt source, so what will be the voltage seen at the a-b terminals? This will be Vth (or Veq).

Finally, if you know Rth and Vth, what is the value of Vth/(Rth + 12)?

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009